A Court of Thorns and Roses (Review)

77493_original

by Sarah J. Maas

(A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

Pages: 419 // Published: May 5, 2015 // Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

My Rating: ★★★★★

Summary as Provided by Publisher

The New York Times bestselling first book in a new fantasy series from Sarah J. Maas…

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it…or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Thoughts

1

……But even then I clung to the music, gripping it like a ledge that kept me from falling. I hadn’t realized how badly I didn’t want to tumble into that deep dark-how much I wanted to stay here among the clouds and colour and light. 

I loved this book, seriously adored it. Like bow down, I’m not worthy kind of love. This was the second Sarah J Maas book I’ve read and I enjoyed it so bloody much, if you can’t tell so far.

This book in my mind, two parts. First part is being an introduction into tho world of Fae. Feyre is already miserable in her regular human life – like she got it rooooough. Then to be thrown into a world you didn’t even know existed. A world where humans are on the verrrry bottom of the food chain. It’s tough. But then she gets to become someone who she couldn’t have become back home and we see a love story blossom. The second part is where it gets real – and has a strong hunger game vibes, where Feyre shows just how much “weak” humans can do. I just loved that she clearly had the odds stacked above her to the point where it seemed almost pointless, but her love pushes her forward.

The story pulls you right in and you devour every moment.I forgot that this was YA at one point, it read just like any adult fantasy book. Feyre was stubborn and smart, but clearly lost. I don’t think she felt like she belonged anywhere, even her family was more of a burden than anything. She intrigued me and I enjoyed her perspective thoroughly. Tamlin on the other hand was slightly cliche but I felt like he was perfect for the part. His personality was a bit flat and I felt like his actions and what he was attracts Feyre more than who he is. However, Lucien! What a guy, totally could eat every word up from him. Loved his character immensely.

The scenery and dialogue was so rich and deep in my mind. Like I would read out their voices in my head, especially the moment where she encounters a suriel – a malevolent fairy, who must answer the questions of whoever captures them. They cannot lie.

“Human,” it said, and its voice was at once one and many, old and young, beautiful and grotesque. My bowels turned watery. “Did you set this clever, wicked trap for me?”

Like come onnnnnn. Too freaking good.
Please please please read this, so you can fan-girl hard with me.

so freaking effing excited kristen wiig GIF by Saturday Night Live-source

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my first post.

Happy Reading!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s